Submissions for 2019 Awards are closed 

We are no longer accepting submissions for the 2019 Arab American Book Awards, honoring books published in 2018, in the categories of Fiction, Non-Fiction - Scholarly/Academic, Non-Fiction - Memoir/Creative, Poetry and Children/Young Adult. The deadline to submit a book for consideration is March 1, 2019.

Winners of the 2019 Arab American Book Awards will be announced in Summer 2019. 

2018 Book Award Winners Announced

Click HERE to read the full list of 2018 Book Award winners and honorable mentions. The awardees were honored during a celebration on Friday, November 9, 2018 at the Arab American National Museum in Dearborn, Mich. 

About the Arab American Book Awards

The Arab American Book Awards is a literary program created to honor books written by and about Arab Americans. The program generates greater awareness of Arab American scholarship and writing through an annual award competition and educational outreach.

Winners and honorable mentions may be presented annually in these categories:
  • Adult Non-Fiction - Scholarly/Academic (The Evelyn Shakir Non-Fiction Award)
  • Adult Non-Fiction - Memoir/Creative
  • Adult Fiction
  • Poetry (The George Ellenbogen Poetry Award)
  • Children/Young Adult, Fiction or Non-Fiction

Each winter, the Arab American National Museum’s Library & Resources Center issues a call for award submissions. To be eligible for consideration for the 2019 awards, a book must comply with the following criteria:

  • The book must be written, edited or illustrated by an Arab American, or address the Arab American experience.
  • The book must be an original work and published in English between January 1 and December 31, 2018.
  • The portrayal or representation of Arab Americans should be accurate and engaging, avoid stereotypes, and reflect rich characterization.
Submissions are reviewed by committees that represent a variety of constituencies: previous winners, librarians, and Arab American scholars. When selecting winning titles, reviewers take into account a book’s overall quality, including its writing and originality. For non-fiction titles, reviewers also consider the relevancy, sufficiency, and accuracy of a book’s information. After verifying a submission’s eligibility, Arab American National Museum staff takes no part in the reviewers’ deliberations.

Past Arab American Book Award Winners

To view lists of past winners, click on the years below.

2018  -  2017  -  2016  -  2015  -  2014  -  2013  - 2012  -  2011  -  2010  -  2009  -  2008  -  2007

Contact us

313.624.0223 (direct line)

13624 Michigan Avenue, Dearborn, MI 48126 - Phone (313) 582-AANM (2266) A Project of ACCESS